top of page


The Vans Pipe Masters 2023 Field Announced - Running December 8th - 20th

Photos and Words by Tommy Moore

Published November 20, 2023

The Vans Pipe Masters is returning to Oahu's North Shore this December for its second year running under Vans' name. Decorated surfers from across the globe were hand picked by Vans to once again create a more diverse and dynamic 60 person competition field than your standard high stakes competition. Along with shaking up the field, scoring guidelines are broadened to include turns and airs, breaking the mold of long held barrel focused scoring, opening the door for a new generation of athletes. Familiar and new names are amongst the crowd fighting for a 100k purse--a hefty paycheck for both the women's and men's fields.

Mikey February and Harry Bryant

For years, Vans has led the charge in hosting action sports events with equal prize purses. From surf, to skate, to BMX, eqaulity and diversity have taken top priority, benefitting all of the given sports and surrounding cultures. Up until 2019, WSL sanctioned events shied away from equal prize purses for the men's and women's division. At the tail end of the 2018 season however, the announced that all sanctioned events moving forward would have equal prize money.

Vans Pipe Masters 2023 Competition Field:



Harry Bryant and Evan Schell

After fickle waves for the first week and a half of last year's waiting period, a strong start to the Hawaiian season is a bright sign for Pipe Masters and the following Vans Triple Crown. You can find more information on this year's Vans Pipe Masters here.

Pua DeSoto

Last year, we spent the first week of the competition's waiting period on the North Shore with Vans Surf and some familiar favorites. See our take on the 2022 Vans Pipe Masters here or grab our latest book to read about our time with Vans Surf here.

Mikey February and Dane Reynolds

Sophie Bell


Photos and Words by Tommy Moore

Published November 20, 2023

More information on The 2023 Vans Pipe Masters


bottom of page